Preserving the real places and the real stories of Texas.

Real Places 2019: Historic Tax Credits How-To

Everything You Need To Know About Utilizing Historic Preservation Tax Credits

Pre-conference Workshop

Day/Time: Wednesday, January 16, 10 a.m.–3 p.m.
Location: Capitol Salon F, 3rd Floor
Speakers: Caroline Wright, Valerie Magolan, Kylie Woodlock, and Gregory Smith, Texas Historical Commission; Bill Franks, not affiliated; and Amy Miller, City of Elgin

Registration Information
$55 with conference registration
$100 for the workshop only
Lunch included
Limited to 25 attendees

This workshop will provide an in-depth look at the Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credit and the Texas Historic Preservation Tax Credit programs administered by the Texas Historical Commission (THC). Program staff will give a thorough introduction, covering eligibility and how tax credits work with the National Register of Historic Places; the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation and how the THC reviews architectural work; and how to prepare and submit effective tax credit applications. Additionally, a panel of tax credit users will answer questions about selling tax credits, attracting investors, coordinating with local review processes, finding historic buildings, utilizing professional services, and other related issues.

American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) members can earn Certification Maintenance (CM) credits for this activity (or many activities at this event). When CM credits are available, they are noted at the end of an activity description. More information about AICP’s CM program can be found at

CM | 4.5

Members of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) can earn continuing education credits for this activity (or many activities at this event). Texas Society of Architects (TxA) is the provider of record. When Learning Units (LU) and health, safety, and welfare (HSW) credits are available for AIA-approved courses, they are noted at the end of an activity description. More information about AIA’s continuing education program can be found at and



Caroline Wright is a tax credit project reviewer at the THC, with nearly 11 years’ experience working with historic tax credits. She has also worked for the state of Georgia, which has a very active state tax credit program. Wright holds degrees in Architecture and Historic Preservation from Tulane University.


Valerie Magolan is one of two tax credit project reviewers at the Texas Historical Commission (THC), administering the Texas Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program and the Federal Preservation Tax Credit Program. She reviews projects throughout the state and is the primary reviewer for the Central and South Texas regions. Magolan joined the THC in 2014 to oversee the state tax credit program from its inception, and has since presented about the new state program in more than 20 Texas cities. She previously worked with the federal tax credit program and the Virginia state tax credit program at the Virginia Department of Historic Resources. Magolan has a master’s degree in Historic Preservation from the University of Pennsylvania and a bachelor’s degree in Architecture from Wellesley College.


Kylie Woodlock is responsible for the intake review and application processing for the Texas Historical Commission’s Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program. She has a master’s degree in History from the University of North Texas, where she previously worked as a teaching assistant and tutor in the history department.


Gregory Smith is coordinator of the National Register of Historic Places program for the THC, where he has worked as a historian since 1996. Other federal programs he coordinates in the THC’s History Programs Division include review of federal projects under Section 106, and federal and state preservation tax credit applications. He also prepares and processes State Antiquities Landmark applications for buildings and structures. During his time at the agency, the National Park Service has approved nearly 700 National Register nominations for Texas properties. He has a master’s degree in History from the University of Delaware and a bachelor’s degree in Art History from the University at Buffalo. He teaches the Historic Sites Documentation class every fall semester at the University of Texas at Austin School Architecture.


A native Texan involved in commercial real estate for over 30 years, Bill Franks has a background in investment real estate development, redevelopment, management, and acquisitions. For the last decade, he has focused on the conversion of under-used buildings to transform them into economic drivers that will endure for the next 50–100 years. In downtown Houston alone, he has transformed and repositioned 15 buildings into modern, sustainable properties. One of these is the 1913 Stowers Furniture Building, a National Register-listed property that was recently rehabilitated utilizing historic preservation tax credits and is now the Aloft Houston Downtown hotel. On these projects, Franks has been the liaison between developers and federal, state, county, and city governments. He has served on the boards of numerous civic groups, currently including the Greens Bayou Corridor Coalition, Midtown Management District, and Preservation Houston.


Amy Miller, community development director for the city of Elgin since 1996, holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Public Administration from the University of North Texas. During her 25 years of service with municipalities, she has worked for Dallas, Colleyville, and Fort Worth in the mayor’s office, city administration, economic development, human resources, parks and recreation, historic preservation, downtown development, and community development. Under Miller’s leadership as the Main Street manager, Elgin has been recognized each year since 1999 as a nationally accredited Main Street community. Her family includes her husband Alan and two children, Heather and Robert, who attend Elgin Independent School District. She volunteers in the community with the Blackland Prairie Service Unit Girl Scouts, Troop 182 Boy Scouts, Elgin Chamber of Commerce, Elgin Community Cupboard, and First Presbyterian Church.